Shire of Mundaring councillors honoured

Pictured: WALGA President Cr Lynne Craigie, Cr John Daw and his wife Emmanuelle Daw at the 2017 WA Local Government Convention. (Cr David Lavell was absent).

SHIRE of Mundaring President David Lavell and Councillor John Daw were among 48 Local Government elected members and officers recently honoured as part of the 2017 Local Government Convention held at Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre over 2-4 August.

The WA Local Government Honours Program, run by WALGA, recognises individuals for their contributions to the Local Government sector and dedication to their own local communities.

Cr Lavell was one of eleven elected members awarded the Local Government Merit Award, which recognises those individuals who have given distinguished service to the community through their local government.

Having served two separate terms as a councillor since 2001 and holding Shire of Mundaring's presidency since 2015, Cr Lavell was recognised for his genuine, respectful and honest leadership skills.

Cr Daw was one of 26 individuals to receive a Long and Loyal Service Award in recognition of long and loyal service of a high degree to either Local Government or WALGA.

WALGA President Cr Lynne Craigie congratulated all the recipients for their achievements and important contributions.

"Between them, these extraordinary individuals have spent thousands and thousands of hours improving the services, facilities and opportunities in communities right across the State," Cr Craigie said.

"Each of these individuals has had a profound influence on their organisation or in representing the needs and aspirations of their local community, and are considered respected professionals and community leaders."

For more information, or to see the full list of Local Government Honours Award recipients for 2017, please visit the WALGA website.



Shire of Mundaring 2017 WA Local Government Honours recipients

David Lavell - Local Government Merit Award (absent)
David Lavell has a long history of representing the community of Mundaring, serving two separate terms as a councillor since 2001. President of the Shire of Mundaring since 2015, David is respected throughout the community for his volunteering work, and his strong leadership skills in navigating the community through challenging issues. David's genuine, respectful and honest leadership skills have been welcomed by elected members, staff and the Mundaring community, and he continues to be an example to other councillors. David is a member of a number of council committees, including the Audit & Risk Committee, the Grants Selection Occasional Committee and is the council's representative on the Mundaring Arts Centre Board and the Metropolitan East Joint Development Assessment Panel.

John Daw - Long and Loyal Service Award
Dedicating over 14 years as a Councillor with the Shire of Mundaring, John Daw is passionate about environmental and sustainability issues, and is well known throughout the community for his role as Chair of the Environmental Recovery Sub Committee which worked to assist communities devastated by the 2014 bushfires in Parkerville, Stoneville and Mt Helena. John's contribution to the Local Planning Scheme ensured the protection of local natural areas from development, with the Scheme winning a WA Planning Award, and recognised in the National Planning Award process. John is Deputy Chair of the Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council, and a member of both the Perth Airports Municipalities Group and the Perth Airport Community Forum.

The Place for Sustainable Living. Sitemap  |   Copyright Shire of Mundaring 2018