Shire welcomes new citizens & celebrates volunteers

Thirty-one new Australian citizens were welcomed to the Shire of Mundaring at its Australia Day Citizenship Ceremony on Sunday 26 January.

The annual event was held at Mundaring Arena. Shire Councillors, the Honourable Ken Wyatt AM MP, Minister for Indigenous Australians and Member for Hasluck, Matthew Hughes MLA – Member for Kalamunda and Shire staff welcomed new citizens alongside their families and friends.

Shire President Cr John Daw said Australian citizenship ceremonies were an important part of a nation's celebrations.

"They hold a special significance for conferees and the broader Australian community and we are proud to announce that Shire of Mundaring will be hosting six ceremonies during 2020," he said.

Parkerville residents, Sam and Joseph Stirk, were two of this year's Australia Day conferees.

Originating from South Africa, Sam has lived in the Hills since 2014. Joseph, aged 8, was born in the United Kingdom where Sam lived for 14 years before moving to Australia with her English husband and son.

Before immigrating, Sam had visited the area many times as her brother and parents had made the move from South Africa decades earlier.

"We decided to live in Australia, and the Shire of Mundaring, to be close to family," Sam said. "We love the weather and lifestyle and the small, community feel of Parkerville.

"We knew we could give our son a healthier lifestyle – including time spent outdoors, participating in sports and living on a bigger property – which was important to us."

Sam said she chose to confer on Australia Day as Joseph's grandparents, who are visiting from Scotland, were able to witness the ceremony.

"We are so grateful to live in Australia, to put down roots and to call this country home," she said. "It was a lovely celebration to share as a family."

During Sunday's ceremony a number of individual volunteers, groups and businesses received Citizenship Awards and recognition for their invaluable contributions to our community.

Cr Daw said the awards were presented across four categories, Long Service, Inspirational Volunteer, Access Mundaring, and Rising Star, and selected from the pool of Celebrating Community nominations announced in December 2019.

"We congratulate each recipient and thank them for their outstanding service to the local community," he said.

The 2020 Citizenship Awards winners are:

Long ServiceColin James, Darlington Community Recreation Advisory Group/Darlington Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
Inspirational VolunteerTarryn Cuthbert, Hills Rangers Football Club
Access Mundaring
(There were two winners for this category)

Anita Gamba, Inclusion and disAbility Access Advisory Group (IDAAG)

Wheels Inc.

Rising StarOwen Briffa, Lost Mundaring & Surroundings

For more information see our Awards and Recognition page.

The Place for Sustainable Living. Sitemap  |   Copyright Shire of Mundaring 2018