Celebrating Community and Citizen Awards

The Shire of Mundaring is pleased to celebrate the significant and outstanding contribution of community members through its Celebrating Community and Citizen Awards.

About the Awards

Celebrating Community Award

The Celebrating Community Award celebrates inspirational individuals, businesses or community groups who have made a significant contribution to the local community. 

Nomination categories are as follows:

  • Rising Star (under 25): Recognises young people (individual/group) who have made a significant contribution to their local community.
  • Inspirational Volunteer: Recognises an individual/group who through their volunteering role have made an outstanding contribution to the local community.
  • Access Mundaring: Recognises an individual or group that is making a difference to create a more accessible and inclusive Shire of Mundaring.
  • Long Service: Recognises an individual or group who have been community champions and continuously served their community in excess of ten years.

Citizen Awards

The Citizen Awards recognise and celebrate significant contributions to community life and active citizenship. Recipients are selected from the Celebrating Community nominations and are people who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years through active involvement. 


Nominations are now closed for the 2021 awards.

Celebrating Community Awards will be presented at an event held on International Volunteer Day, Sunday 5 December 2021.

Nominations for each category will then be considered by a panel and Citizen Awards will be presented to the recipients at an event held on Australia Day, Wednesday 26 January 2022. 

2021 award winners

Celebrating Community Award

Inspirational Volunteer

Sarah Mencshelyi - Wooroloo Bush Fire Recovery

Leith Bereth - Wooroloo General Store

Craig Pabst - Wooroloo General Store

Rhonda Farmer - Prime Movers

Greg Jones - Stoneville and Parkerville Progress Association

Wade Isard - Mount Helena Amateur Swim Club

Michael Beynon

Vanessa van der Swaagh - Wooroloo Primary School P&C

Chuan Seng Yean - Silver Tree Steiner School

Simon Cherriman - The Re-CycOlogy Project

Danielle Crichton - The Re-CycOlogy Project

Kathy Wood - Friends of Harold Street Reserve, Friends of Glen Forrest Superblock, Friends of Nyaania Creek and Railway Heritage Reserve

Save Perth Hills

Lucy Ronald - Perth Hills Mundaring Visitor Centre

Boon-Siang Kueh - Silver Tree Steiner School

Long Service

Marijanna Smith - Silver Tree Steiner School

Lynette Myles - Darlington History Group

Willie Warnock - HorsePower Hills

Rod Warnock - HorsePower Hills

David Forsyth - Chidlow Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

Rod Blyth - Chidlow Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

Rodney Powell - Hills Night Hockey Association


Winners of the 2021 Citizen awards will be posted here in late January 2022.

More information and contact

For more information please contact us on 9290 6666 or email shire@mundaring.wa.gov.au.