National Food Safety Standard, 3.2.2A

A new National Food Safety Standard, 3.2.2A – Food Safety Management Tools has been introduced across Australia to reduce the rate of foodborne illnesses linked to poor handling of food in certain food service, retail and catering food businesses.

What changes have been made to the Food Safety Standard?

Food businesses that handle unpackaged, potentially hazardous and ready-to-eat foods will need to comply with the new standard requirements by 8 December 2023.
Standard 3.2.2A introduces new requirements for specified food businesses, which will need to have:

  1. Food safety supervisors: You will need to appoint a food safety supervisor for your business.
  2. Food safety training: Your food handlers will need to show they have had food safety training.
  3. Show you are managing key food safety controls: You will need to keep records of important food safety controls or be able to demonstrate safe food handling practices.

What are the two differentiated categories?

The requirements are differentiated based on the business type and fall into two distinct categories:

  • Category One (Higher Risk): These businesses must incorporate all three of the preceding management tools. This category typically includes establishments that prepare and serve unpackaged high-risk ready-to-eat foods. Examples are cafés, restaurants, or caterers that cook and serve high-risk foods like meat, dairy, seafood, pasta, or rice.
  • Category Two: Businesses in this category are required to have both a food safety supervisor and trained food handlers. They typically handle unpackaged high-risk foods minimally, such as slicing, weighing, repacking, reheating, or hot-holding. Examples include a service station that displays chilled pies or sandwiches in a hot or cold display unit, or a supermarket deli that slices and packages cold meats.

Tools Applicable to Category 1 and 2 Food Businesses:

Food Business Category Food Handler Training Food Safety Supervisor Showing your food is safe
Category 1 Yes Yes Yes
Category 2 Yes Yes Not applicable

What is a food safety supervisor? 

A food safety supervisor (FSS) must be a person who has recognised, formal certification as a FSS, obtained in the past 5 years. They should have recent, relevant skills and knowledge to handle food safely, particularly high-risk food.

Category 1 and 2 businesses must submit a copy of the certificate of attainment for their nominated food safety supervisors to Shire of Mundaring by 8 December 2023.


Free food handler training and guidance

FoodSafe Online training

The Food Standards Code requires a food business to ensure that persons undertaking or supervising food handling operations have:

  • Skills in food safety and food hygiene matters; and
  • Knowledge of food safety and food hygiene matters, relative to their work activities.

To register and complete course online go to FoodSafe Online. When you have proceeded to the course payment details, enter the code FSMANDU348 in the "Redeem Online Voucher" field.

A preview of FoodSafe Online is available below.

Food Allergy Training

Did you know that Australia has one of the highest allergy rates in the world?
For every 100 customers food business serve, two may have an allergy.

It’s becoming increasingly important that food handlers are able to navigate allergen risks whilst preparing food.

The Shire highly recommended that all food handlers also undertake Food Allergy Training to assist in their food handling skill sets.

Other food safety guidance

 It is a requirement that all staff working in a food business must have adequate knowledge of basic food safety and food hygiene. Refer to the links below for important information:

Food poisoning

Food labelling

Safe food storage and display in businesses (PDF)

Health and hygiene for food handling (PDF)

Hand washing and gloves in food premises (PDF)

More information and contacts 

For more information about water quality, please contact the Shire’s Health Services on 9290 6742 or email