Shire of Mundaring is pleased to celebrate the significant and outstanding contribution of community members by accepting nominations for Shire of Mundaring Australia Day Citizenship Awards 2024. 

The award recognises and celebrates significant contributions to community life and active citizenship. Recipients will be selected from nominations and will be people who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, or given outstanding service to the local community over a number of years through active involvement.

How do I nominate a superstar?

Nominations for the Australia Day Citizenship Award 2024 is now closed. 

Nomination Categories

Rising Star (under 25) – young people (individual or group) who have made a significant contribution to their local community.

Inspirational Volunteer – individual/group who through their volunteering role have made an outstanding contribution to the local community.

Access Mundaring – Recognises an individual or group making a difference to create a more accessible and inclusive Shire of Mundaring.

Long Service – an individual or group who have been community champions and continuously served their community for in excess of ten years.


Nominees must not have been a recipient of an award in the past five years

Sitting members of State, Federal and Local Government are not eligible

The Nominee must be an Australian Citizen

The Nominee must be a resident of Shire of Mundaring

2024 Citizen Award Recipients

Rising Star Award

Not Awarded

Inspirational Volunteer Award

Mundaring Hills Open Studios Organising Team was awarded the Inspirational Volunteer Award.

Mundaring Hills Open Studios holds an annual art trail event in which participating artists open their studios to the public. Now in its 13th year, it is one of the oldest Open Studios in WA. This event helps promote Mundaring as an art and cultural destination.

The Open Studios event has economic benefits for the community with increased visitation to the hills bringing visitors to local businesses including accommodation, bus tours, local cafes, wineries and fresh produce. 

Access Mundaring Award

Shanti Wilbers was awarded the Access Mundaring award. 

Shanti's journey with the Mundaring Toy Library spans an impressive seven years, during which she has made an indelible mark. Her exemplary leadership, dedication and innovative approach to building the Mundaring Toy Library as an important community resource has had a positive impact on local families.

Shanti has spearheaded numerous community events, ensuring that families have access to enriching experiences without financial barriers. She has focussed on developing partnerships with local businesses and community groups, which has built a sense of community and solidarity.

Long Service Award

Jenny Johnson and Tom Burbidge were both awarded the Long Service Award. 

Jenny has been an avid campaigner for the environment and other issues in Shire of Mundaring for many years. Jenny has been a member of a variety of community groups including Jane Brook Catchment Group, Friends of the Bridle Trail, Falls Park and Wedgetail Reserve, Parkerville Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade and Mundaring and Hills Historical Society.

Tom has been involved with the Mundaring Residents and Ratepayers Progress Association for over 15 years and for the last 10 years has been the association's Secretary. Tom has also been involved for decades in the Scout movement. Tom is a self-less contributor and achiever who has made Mundaring a better place to live.


Previous winners

Year  Long Service  Inspirational Volunteer Access Mundaring  Rising Star


Jenny Johnston

Tom Burbidge

Mundaring Hills Open Studios Organising Team: Silvana Ferrario, Liz Berry, Jenny Kerr, Melissa De Winter, Denise Bending, Neil Elliot, Julie Smith, Yvonne Wadley, Stacy Gordoll, Ian Kay, Craig McKeough, Nicola Constant

Shanti Wilbers



Parkerville Playgroup

Michael Everett

Narelle Thredgold

Michele ‘Mickey’ Bourgault


Rodney Powell

Kathy Wood

Vanessa Van der Swaagh

Willie and Rod Warnock



David Brockway

Stefan & Yvonne Brayley

Margaret Hegney


Colin James

Tarryn Cuthbert

Anita Gamba & Wheels Inc

Owen Briffa


Tracey Jenkin

Sophie Leonard, Tonia Leonard, Lucy Golby, Kira Blankley, Georgia Peakall, Brigitte McCormick

Ronald Colijn & Joanne Colijn-Dew

Cory Tenardi


Helen Armstrong

Jude Van Der Merwe & Tom Burbidge

Ryan Kertesz, Mia Whittaker, Lily McDonald, Ashley Raccanello, Bailey Smith, Jessica Mc Ewen, Brooke Nicoletto, Anne Williams

Niamh Heyney