Exceptional community members honoured

Published on Friday, 26 January 2024 at 11:44:38 AM

Shire of Mundaring celebrated its outstanding community heroes at a Citizenship Ceremony and Shire of Mundaring Australia Day Citizenship Awards event held on Australia Day, Friday 26 January. 

The ceremony held at the Boya Community Centre recognised the winners who have all played instrumental roles in supporting their respective community groups. 

Shire President Paige McNeil congratulated all award winners, saying their generosity and desire to enhance our community were a true reflection of the spirt of these awards.

“This is an extremely exciting time every year, because it’s an opportunity to recognise the extraordinary efforts of people in our community. Shire of Mundaring is incredibly fortunate to have such passionate and dedicated people contributing to our strong, connected and supportive community,” she said.

I’m proud to announce the winners of this year’s Citizen Awards are Tom Burbidge, Jenny Johnson, Shanti Wilbers and Mundaring Open Studio’s - you are all truly inspiring.”

2024 Shire of Mundaring Australia Day Citizenship Award Recipients

Mundaring Hills Open Studios Organising Team – Inspirational Volunteer Award (Group)
Mundaring Hills Open Studios (MHOS) holds an annual art trail event in which local participating artists open their studios to the public.  This vibrant annual art event, now in its 13th year showcased 65 artists across 37 studios. Drawing 4000 visitors   the event generated $400,000 in art sales. MHOS is a self-funded initiative with a dedicated team of 12 volunteers who have collectively contributed thousands of hours to deliver this exceptional event. Beyond its positive economic impact, MHOS promotes Mundaring as a thriving art and cultural destination, cultivating a vibrant community and enhancing the area's appeal as a place to live and work.

The organising team 2023 includes Silvana Ferrario, Liz Berry, Jenny Kerr, Melissa De Winter, Denise Bending, Neil Elliot, Julie Smith, Yvonne Wadley, Stacy Gordoll, Ian Kay, Craig McKeough and Nicola Constant.

Shanti Wilbers – Access Mundaring
Over seven impactful years with the Mundaring Toy Library, Shanti's leadership has been instrumental. As a former member turned driving force, she dedicated five years to the committee and the past three as President. Shanti's strategic vision and "Dreaming Big" project secured significant funds, enabling extensive renovations and the addition of inclusive offerings to the toy catalogue. Shanti's commitment and innovation has transformed the toy library into a vital community hub, fostering strong bonds among local families.

Tom Burbidge – Long Service Award
Tom has served as the Secretary of the Mundaring Residents and Ratepayers Progress Association for the past decade. His extensive involvement in the Scout movement spans decades in roles from Scout Leader to Treasurer, contributing specialised communications knowledge. Tom continues to support the local community, assisting older residents with equipment issues and setup. With a 45-year history as a business owner, Tom's commitment extends to various organisations, making him a selfless contributor who has significantly enriched the Mundaring community.

Jenny Johnson – Long Service Award
As a dedicated advocate for the environment and various causes in the shire, Jenny has been actively involved with numerous environmental groups such as Jane Brook Catchment Group, Friends of the Bridle Trail, Brookside Park, Falls Park, and Wedgetail Reserve. Her commitment extends to membership in the Parkerville Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade, Eastern Hills Wildflower Society, and Mundaring and Hills Historical Society. As a past Shire Councillor of 10 years, Jenny passionately works on advisory committees for Heritage and Culture. A shire resident since 1974, and former TAFE educator, she brings a wealth of experience and understanding, particularly in supporting young people.  

Congratulations to all award recipients!

Back to All News