Winning for Wildlife

Published on Tuesday, 22 August 2023 at 9:09:49 AM

Shire of Mundaring’s environmental photographic competition was ‘wildly successful’ with 18 local photography enthusiasts named winners.

Three winners were selected across six categories and will receive a $75 gift voucher.

Shire President James Martin said the Shire received an overwhelming response from photography enthusiasts in the community.

“The Shire received over 600 submissions. The quality and sheer number of entries made it challenging for the judges to choose only 18 winners,” he said. ­

“Thank you to everyone who submitted images. Your enthusiasm and support for this initiative was awe-inspiring.  We were highly impressed with the outstanding wildlife photographs submitted.”

The winning photos will be included in a Wildlife of the Perth Hills booklet, as well as additional species photos that were submitted in the competition. All selected photos will include photo credit. Once published, the booklet will become a free resource for the community with the purpose of increasing awareness of the wildlife that lives among us and the habitats they require. This booklet will be available on our website later this year and will be available as a free hardcopy resource in 2024. 

The competition was judged by respected author, teacher and naturalist Eric McCrum and Operations Officer Fauna Conservation at Perth Hills District, Karen Jackson with the assistance of team members from the Shire’s Environment team.

“Thank you to the guest judges who generously dedicated their time to assist in judging the competition,” said Cr Martin.

The winners are as follows:

Amphibian Category
Kayley Usher – Hooting Frog
Janet Rundle – Motorbike Frog
Simon Cherriman – Turtle Frog

Bird Category
Willem Heyneker - Forest Red-tailed Black Cockatoo
Simon Cherriman – Tawny Frogmouth
Carol McGrath – Black-shouldered Kite

Habitat Category
Nicole Wilkins – Flowing Stream
Peter Moltoni – Granite Outcrop
Carol McGrath – New Holland Honeyeaters at birdbath

Invertebrate Category
Andre Lebel – Blue Skimmer
Nicole Wilkins – Orange-footed Centipede
Simon Cherriman – Wolf Spider

Mammal Category
Stephen Quartly – Common Brushtail Possum
Simon Cherriman – Grey-bellied Dunnart
Ronald Dullard – Western Grey Kangaroo

Reptile Category
Fiona Crichton – Sand Goanna
Simon Cherriman – Snake-necked Tortoise (Oblong Turtle)
Margaret Dylan Jones – Thick-tailed Barking Gecko

To view all the winning submissions, visit Page Centre - Wild Mundaring Photography Competition

Photo caption:

Eric McCrum and Karen Jackson front, with members of the Shire’s Environment team (back) judged the photo competition.




Back to All News